Kitchen Stock | May/June 2022

Updated: Apr 29

Cowboy approved recipes used by our favorite country cooks.


In the kitchen with Jami Woltemath, Woltemath Angus - Olsburg, Kan.



Where did you learn to cook?

"My mom and grandmothers all played a vital part in my knowledge of cooking. My German and Swedish heritage have opened doors to learning and cooking/baking many of our favorite family recipes including Swedish pancakes, Swedish cookies, “Kraut” burgers (Runzas), sauerkraut, and spareribs. In addition, the traditional multiple course farm meals were always offered. My dad’s mom (who we called “Dolly”) was well known for her cream pies, and Grandma was best known for her German dishes and fruit pies. My mom (who the kids call Mimi) is known for her fried chicken, mashed potatoes, and the best chicken gravy ever! Needless to say, we have never lacked for quality food or desserts at any of the family gatherings."


What is your favorite thing to make?

"Oh goodness, this is a tough question. My crab dip is definitely one of the favorites for ALL family gatherings. I love to bake, so my pumpkin bars, beer bread, and stacked brownies are also family favorites. We eat a lot of beef at our house, and my husband particularly enjoys my meatloaf. I also enjoy canning homemade spaghetti sauce and cooking with fresh garden produce in the summer. We love fresh zucchini on the grill!"



What is your favorite cooking tip/trick?

"I have a baking pan that I inherited from my great-grandmother. I attribute this pan to much of my baking success with cakes and bars. I have looked for a pan like the one I have but have never been able to locate one. Also, when baking, always cream the butter, eggs, and sugar for a long period of time. This adds for a better consistency and always moist product. I also turn to cream of tartar in making the perfect meringue, fudge, and popcorn ball syrup. Cream of tartar helps items set up much better and helps with syrups not becoming sugary."


What is your least favorite job in the kitchen?

"I really don’t have a least favorite job in the kitchen."


Tell us about yourself.

"My husband, Dallas, and I are Nebraska natives. We moved to Kansas three years ago to be closer to our children and grandchildren. We reside in Olsurg, Kan. (population of 210), which is approximately 20 miles northeast of Manhattan, Kan.


We have been involved with Angus cattle for several years and still have a herd of registered Angus cows and a few Simmental cows as well. Growing up in Nebraska, we both showed cattle and I also showed horses. Our children showed cattle and lambs for many years. My “therapy” has always been spending time in the show barn – working cattle hair and running a blower. It’s always fun starting a new group of cattle in the barn and watching their progress.


Dallas is a retired youth pastor who has served as a manager/consultant in the cattle industry for over 40 years. He currently serves in an advisory role at ZWT Ranch in Crossville, Tenn., but wears many other “hats” on and off the ranch. I worked as a nurse and served in healthcare for many years. This past year, I decided to pursue a different career path and currently work for the Kansas Department of Agriculture in the Animal Health Division.


We are very blessed with an amazing family, including five sons, their wives, and eight wonderful grandchildren. In addition, we “claim” many other youth as a part of our family. Our most treasured time is spent with our family, but we also enjoy dirt track racing, baseball games, and golf. We love to travel to various cattle functions and are truly grateful for the relationships we have throughout the livestock industry.


Christ is the most vital part of our lives! HE is our refuge and our strength in all things. “For every beast of the forest is mine and the cattle upon a thousand hills.” (Psalm 50:10)





13 views0 comments